312 voters take to polls in runoffs

Early voting is underway for the Gillespie County primary election runoff races.

Early voting will continue through Friday, May 18, ahead of the Tuesday, May 22 runoff election.

As of press time, 312 voters cast ballots in person, while 711 voters requested mail-in ballots.

Of those voters, Republicans had 543 mail-in ballot requests, 113 voters on Monday and 133 voters on Tuesday. On the Democrat side, 168 persons requested mail-in ballots, and 26 voted Monday and 40 voted on Tuesday.

Voters can cast ballots between 8 a.m.-4 p.m. at the Gillespie County Courthouse.

Democrats can vote in Basement Room 101A and Republicans can vote in County Courtroom Room 107.

For those that voted in the March 6 primary election, they must vote with the same party affiliate in the runoff. Those that did not vote in the primary can vote for either party.

On election day, May 22, Democrats will vote at Zion Lutheran Church, located at 425 West Austin Street.

Republicans can vote as follows:

• Pct. 1, 8 and 12:  Gillespie County Extension Building, 95 Frederick Road.

• Pct. 2 and 10: Gillespie County Courthouse, 101 West Main Street.

• Pct. 3, 6 and 7: EMS Building, 221 Friendship Lane.

• Pct. 4, 9 and 13: Girl Scout Cabin, 202 West Austin Street.

• Pct. 5 and 15: Harper Fire Station, 84 Ranch Road 783 North, Harper.

Republicans will be voting in the following races:

District 21 United States Representative: Chip Roy and Matt McCall;

County Constable, Pct. 1 (Precincts 1, 8 and 12 only): Ken Moore and Wayne Hudson.

Democrats will be voting in the following races:

District 21 United States Representative: Joseph Kopser and Mary Street Wilson;

Governor: Andrew White and Lupe Valdez.


Fredericksburg Standard

P.O. Box 1639
Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4228