Biedermann bests Campbell

Eckhardt, Kramer, Schuch, Meier-McCann, Schoessow win county races

Incumbent State Representative Kyle Biedermann defeated primary challenger Dave Campbell in Tuesday’s House District 73 Republican primary race.

Biedermann will face Stephanie Phillips, a Democrat, who ran unopposed, in the Nov. 6 general election.

Gillespie County, where both Republican candidates reside and run businesses, went for Campbell after the contentious race by a vote of 3,451 to 2,672.  But the more populous Comal and Kendall counties carried Biedermann to the win.

Final totals district-wide were 17,368 for Biedermann and 12,706 for Campbell or 57.8 percent to 42.2 percent.

Biedermann thanked God and his wife after his victory.

“We thank the voters for embracing our conservative, issue-based campaign,” he stated in a press release. “I am proud to have kept my promises and remained true to my word. It will be my honor to continue the fight as your strong and independent voice, fighting for our shared conservative values.”

Campbell jumped into the race and had to get his name out in three months and face a well-financed campaign by the incumbent.

                “I was disappointed with the results, but I am really gratified with those who supported me in Gillespie County and all the wonderful people I met on the campaign trail,” Campbell said.


Less than 40 percent

A total of 6,978 voters took part in Gillespie County, with 6,320 Republican votes cast and 658 Democratic votes.

There are 18,791 registered voters in Gillespie, meaning 37.1 percent voted.

By comparison in 2014 48.8 percent, 8,875 cast ballots in the midterm election.

In 2012, which was a record turnout year, 12,618 voters took part. That election featured a presidential contest and a $15-million jail bond issue for Gillespie voters.


County races

In county races, a runoff will be held for the Constable, Pct. 1 race between Ken Moore and Wayne Hudson, who received 719 and 470 votes, respectively. Chad Loth, who dropped out of the race, received 265. They will compete in a primary runoff on May 22.

In contested Gillespie County primary races, Kelly C. Eckhardt won the County Treasurer contest against Lindsey Brown 4,261 to 1,207.

Keith Kramer won a four-person race for County Commissioner Pct. 2 over Larry Jung, Justin Marschall and Mike McDougall. Kramer commandeered 68 percent of the total with 1,008 votes.

 Linda Meier McCann beat out three others for Justice of the Peace, Pct. 3 seat, squeaking just past the 50-percent mark to avoid a runoff. She finished with 562 votes, compared to 201 for Larry Drozd, 186 for Maribell Neri, and 158 for Heath Sasko Sr.

Commissioner Donnie Schuch handily won re-election over challenger Susan Dantzler by a total of 1,079 to 432, or 71 percent to 29 percent.

Catherine Kuhlmann won Justice of the Peace, Pct. 2, and Carl Schoessow won Justice of the Peace, Pct. 4. Kuhlmann outpaced Russell “Skeet” Wilbanks, 815 to 546 (60 percent), while Schoessow skated past Esther Loth, 1,064 votes to 361 (75 percent).

Other county races featured unopposed contests. The following were re-elected to their positions with their number of votes:

County Judge Mark Stroeher, 4,819;

District Clerk Jan Davis, 4,739;

County Clerk Mary Lynn Rusche, 4,927;

County Surveyor Carey Bonn, 4,681;

Justice of the Peace, Pct. 1 J.D. Hickman, 1,249;

Constable, Pct. 2 Kenny Bode, 1,170;

Constable, Pct. 3 Hilario Villa Sr., 922;

Constable, Pct. 4 Marshal Akin, 1,191;

Republican County Chair Dalton Frome, 4,218;

Democratic County Chair Cathy Collier, 603.


For more on this story, read this week’s print and online editions of the Fredericksburg Standard-Radio Post. If you are a print subscriber, your full online subscription is free. All you need to do is call 830-997-2155 to get a password. If you are not a subscriber, call 997-2155 or click on the ‘Subscribe’ button on the left side of the home page and sign up today!

Fredericksburg Standard

P.O. Box 1639
Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4228