Abbott suspends elective surgeries in Gillespie County


Gov. Greg Abbott issued a proclamation suspending elective surgeries in hospitals in areas including Gillespie County.

The proclamation issued on Thursday, July 9, suspends elective surgeries in all counties within 11 Trauma Service Areas (TSAs). Previously, Abbott suspended elective surgeries at hospitals in the counties of Bexar, Cameron, Dallas, Harris, Hidalgo, Nueces, Travis and Webb.

“The State of Texas continues to implement strategies to help ensure ample supply of hospital beds for COVID-19 patients,” Abbott said. “By expanding this directive to include the counties within these 11 TSAs, we are freeing up more resources to address upticks in COVID-19 related cases.”

Under this proclamation, the governor directed all hospitals in these counties to postpone surgeries and procedures not immediately medically necessary to correct a serious or life-threatening condition, as determined by the patient’s physician.

Through proclamation, the governor can add or remove counties included in his original executive order and subsequent proclamations to address surges in hospitalizations that may arise in other parts of the state.


Included counties:

• TSA J counties — Andrews, Brewster, Crane, Ector, Glasscock, Howard, Jeff Davis, Loving, Martin, Midland, Pecos, Presidio, Reeves, Terrell, Upton, Ward and Winkler counties;

• TSA K counties — Coke, Concho, Crockett, Irion, Kimble, Mason, McCulloch, Menard, Reagan, Runnels, Schleicher, Sterling, Sutton and Tom Green counties;

• TSA M counties — Bosque, Falls, Hill, Limestone and McLennan counties;

• TSA O counties — Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, San Saba and Williamson counties;

• TSA P counties — Atascosa, Bandera, Comal, Dimmit, Edwards, Frio, Gillespie, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kinney, La Salle, Maverick, Medina, Real, Uvalde, Val Verde, Wilson and Zavala counties;

• TSA Q counties — Austin, Colorado, Fort Bend, Matagorda, Montgomery, Walker, Waller and Wharton counties;

• TSA R counties — Brazoria, Chambers, Galveston, Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Newton and Orange counties;

• TSA S counties — Calhoun, DeWitt, Goliad, Jackson, Lavaca, and Victoria counties;

• TSA T counties — Jim Hogg and Zapata counties;

• TSA U counties — Aransas, Bee, Brooks, Duval, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Live Oak, McMullen, Refugio and San Patricio counties; and

• TSA V counties — Starr and Willacy counties.


Texas is divided into 22 TSA regions, provided for the formation of a regional advisory council in each region to develop and implement a regional trauma system plan, delineated the trauma facility designation process and provided for the development of a state trauma registry.

For more information about TSAs, go to