Early voting shatters first day record


Elections office working to keep up with demand 

  • The first day of early voting in Gillespie County broke records with 1,225 people casting ballots.
    The first day of early voting in Gillespie County broke records with 1,225 people casting ballots.

Early voting ahead of the November 2020 General Election began at 7 a.m. Tuesday, and is already breaking records.

As of 3 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 13 (just before press time), Gillespie County had 930 people cast ballots, not including those that hand-delivered mail-in ballots. By the end of the day (7 p.m. Tuesday), 1,225 voters cast ballots. 

“We are going to shatter records this year,” Gillespie County Elections Administrator Anissa Herrera said.

Herrera said that they had 102 voters just in the first hour on Tuesday. Herrera said that in 2016 in the final day of early voting, 700 voters cast ballots in one day.

The early voting period will continue through Friday, Oct. 30.

Absentee ballot requests must be received by Oct. 23. Completed ballots must be postmarked by Election Day, Nov. 3.


Early voting locations, times

The Gillespie County Elections Administrator has announced early voting locations and times ahead of the November election.

All early voting will take place at Gillespie County Annex 2, 102 East San Antonio Street.

Dates and times are as follows:

• Wednesday, Oct. 14: 8 a.m.-4 p.m.;

• Thursday, Oct. 15: 8 a.m.- 4 p.m.;

• Friday, Oct. 16: 8 a.m.- 4 p.m.;

• Saturday, Oct. 17: closed;

• Sunday, Oct. 18: 1-3 p.m.;

• Monday, Oct. 19: 8 a.m.- 4 p.m.;

• Tuesday, Oct. 20: 7 a.m.- 7 p.m.; 

• Wednesday, Oct. 21: 8 a.m.- 4 p.m.;

• Thursday, Oct. 22: 8 a.m.- 4 p.m.;

• Friday, Oct. 23: 8 a.m.- 4 p.m.;

• Saturday, Oct. 24: closed;

• Sunday: Oct. 25: 1-3 p.m.;

• Monday, Oct. 26: 8 a.m.- 4 p.m.;

• Tuesday, Oct. 27: 7 a.m.- 7 p.m.;

• Wednesday, Oct. 28: 8 a.m.-4 p.m.;

• Thursday, Oct. 29: 8 a.m.-4 p.m.;

• Friday, Oct. 30: 8 a.m.-4 p.m.

Races on the ballot

Gillespie County voters will see the presidential race and several other items on the ballot.

They include:

President and Vice President: Donald J. Trump/Mike Pence (REP); Joseph R. Biden/Kamala D. Harris (DEM); Jo Jorgensen/Jeremey (Spike) Cohen (LIB); Howie Hawkins/Angela Walker (GRN); or a write-in.

U.S. Senator: John Cornyn (REP); Mary (MJ) Hegar (DEM); Kerry Douglas McKennon (LIB); David B. Collins (GRN).

U.S. Representative, District 21: Chip Roy (REP); Wendy Davis (DEM); Arthur DiBianca (LIB); Tommy Wakely (GRN).

Railroad Commissioner: James (Jim) Wright (REP); Chrysta Castañeda (DEM); Matt Sterett (LIB); Katija (Kat) Gruene (GRN).

Chief Justice, Supreme Court: Nathan Hecht (REP); Amy Clark Meachum (DEM); Mark Ash (LIB).

Justice Supreme Court, Place 6: Jane Bland (REP); Kathy Cheng (DEM).

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 7: Jeff Boyd (REP); Staci Williams (DEM); William Bryan Strange III (LIB).

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 8: Brett Busby (REP); Gisela D. Triana (DEM); Tom Oxford (LIB).

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3: Bert Richardson (REP); Elizabeth Davis Frizell (DEM).

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4: Kevin Patrick Yeary (REP); Tina Clinton (DEM).

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 9: David Newell (REP); Brandon Birmingham (DEM).

Member, State Board of Education, District 5: Lani Popp (REP); Rebecca Bell-Metereau (DEM); Stephanie Berlin (LIB).

State Senator, District 24: Dawn Buckingham (REP), Clayton Tucker (DEM).

State Representative, District 73: Kyle Biedermann (REP); Stephanie Phillips (DEM).

Justice, 4th Court of Appeals District: Renee Yanta (REP); Rebeca Martinez (DEM).

District Judge, 216th Judicial District: Albert D. (Pat) Pattillo III (REP).

District Attorney, 216th Judicial District: Lucy Wilke (REP).

County Court at Law Judge: Christopher (Chris) Nevins (REP).

County Attorney: Steve Wadsworth (REP).

County Sheriff: Buddy Mills (REP).

County Tax Assessor-Collector: Vicki J. Schmidt (REP).

Voters in specific precincts will also have these choices on their ballot:

County Commissioner, Precinct No. 1: Charles Olfers (REP).

County Commissioner, Precinct No. 3: Dennis W. Neffendorf (REP).


City election

The City of Fredericksburg is also having an election for mayor and two councilmember positions.

On the ballot for mayor is Charlie Kiehne, Graham Pearson and Timothy Ellis Riley.

Those seeking two councilmember positions are Tom Musselman, Jerry Luckenbach and Michael Poole.

Completed applications for a ballot by mail should be returned to Shelley Goodwin, city secretary, 126 W. Main Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624.


Pct. 2 Election

                Justice of the Peace Pct. 2 voters will also cast ballots to decide whether or not to legalize the legal sale of all alcoholic beverages, including mixed beverages.


Harper ISD Trustee Election

Harper Independent School District is having a trustee election for three at-large positions.

Candidates include Victor E. (Trey) Garrett III, Amy Spiess, Roy L. Kasper, John Paul Fogle, John Sergeant, Henry I. Sherman, Erin Eskew Worrell and Susan Doak.


Delivery of by-mail ballots

All early voting mail ballots can be hand-delivered to Gillespie County Annex 2, 102 East San Antonio Street.

On Election Day, ballots can be delivered to:

• Pct. 1: Gillespie County Agricultural Extension Building-Conference Room, 95 Frederick Road;

• Pct. 2: Gillespie County Historical Society Sanctuary Hall, 312 West San Antonio Street,

•    Pct. 3: Fredericksburg Fire EMS Department South Station, 221 Friendship Lane;

• Pct. 4: Girl Scout Cabin, 202 West Austin Street.


 The individual must present one of the acceptable forms of photo identification below:

• Texas Driver License is-sued by the Texas Department of Public Safety;

• Texas Election Identification certificate issued by DPS;

• Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS;

• Texas Handgun License issued by DPS;

• United States Military Identification Card containing the person’s photograph;

• United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph; or

• A United States Passport.

With the exception of the U.S. citizenship certificate, the identification must be current or, for voters aged 18-69, have expired no more than four years before being presented for voter qualification at the polling place. A person 70 years of age or older may use a form of identification listed above that has expired for any length of time if the identification is otherwise valid.

If a voter does not possess one of the forms of acceptable photo identification listed above, and the voter cannot reasonably obtain such identification, the voter may execute a Reasonable Impediment Declaration and present a copy or original of one of the following supporting documents:

• A government document that shows the voter’s name and an address, including the voter’s voter registration certificate;

• A current utility bill;

• A bank statement;

• A government check;

• A paycheck; or

• A certified domestic birth certificate or a document confirming birth admissible in a court of law which establishes the voter’s identity (which may include a foreign birth document).