Fredericksburg seniors to hold commencement

Fredericksburg High School Salutatorian David Hardin, left, and Valedictorian Mattie Lastovica make a practice run at tossing their mortarboards into the air in preparation of commencement exercises this Friday night, June 6. The pair will lead the 221-member Class of 2014 in an 8 p.m. program at the Gillespie County Fair Grounds.—Standard-Radio Post/Lisa Treiber-Walter

Commencement noun • “the time when something begins.”


Two hundred and twenty-one Fredericksburg High School seniors will exercise “commencement” to its fullest definition this Friday, June 6, as they say “goodbye” to one chapter and begin another.

One by one, members of the Class of 2014 will cross the stage to receive their diplomas in an 8 p.m. graduation ceremony at the Gillespie County Fair Grounds, 530 Fair Drive (located off Texas Highway 16 South.)

(The program was originally scheduled for the FHS Stadium, but a change from that venue was needed due to renovation of the field and track.)

Top of the class

Leading their classmates into their final formal activity together will be 2014 FHS valedictorian Mattie Lastovica and salutatorian David Hardin.

After high school, Lastovica, the daughter of Robert and Abban Lastovica, plans to attend Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, to study child development.

Hardin, the son of Brad and Susan Hardin, has plans to attend Texas A&M University in College Station, in the fall to begin his study of biomedical sciences.

Ultimately, both Lastovica and Hardin plan to attend medical school, with she hoping to become a pediatrician helping children with special developmental needs and he hoping to become an oncologist helping patients with cancer.

Lastovica and Hardin will lead the graduates in the processional, while their classmates will follow in alphabetical order.


The Class of 2014’s official song “Best Day of My Life” by American Authors will be played immediately prior to the seniors’ appearance before the grandstands.

Student musicians in the Fredericksburg High School Band, directed by John Rauschuber, will play for the processional.

As the FHS Naval Junior ROTC presents the colors, the Fredericksburg High School varsity choir — “Bella Voce” — will sing the National Anthem.

Student Council president Rebecca Voorhees will then lead the crowd in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance and the Texas Pledge.

After the NJROTC cadets post the colors, senior class president Shelby Bullion will offer a moment of reflection before FHS Principal Ralf Halderman will provide welcoming remarks and introduce special guests.

Hardin and Lastovica will take the podium to deliver their salutatory and valedictory addresses, respectively, before Bella Voce performs “Homeward Bound” as arranged by Jay Althouse. Conducting the choir is Michele Stehling.

The graduates will be certified by Fredericksburg Independent School District superintendent Dr. Eric Wright, after which members of the FISD Board of Trustees will present the diplomas to each graduate.

Announcing names of the graduates as they cross the stage will be Brian Hailey, Shawn Newell and Betsy Setterbo.

To conclude the ceremony, the FHS Band will perform the fight song and the varsity choir will sing the FHS Alma Mater.

Honor graduates

Top 10 percent honor graduates for the Class of 2014 are: Joel Albiter, Austin Beals, Shelby Bullion, Hailey Eckert, Joshua Hampton, David Hardin, Alex Herbig, Katelyn Immel, Kaytlen James, Tyler Klein, Anissa Kneese and Mattie Lastovica.

Also, Luke Littman, Erin McPherson, Monica Montgomery, Chandni Patel, Carolyn Reavis, William Scudder, Shannon Smith, Danielle Trinkle, Rebecca Voorhees and Edward Williams.

National Honor Society

Senior members of the National Honor Society include Joel Albiter, Austin Beals, Clayton Braden, Shelby Bullion, Jasmin Castillo, Allison Doucet, Hailey Eckert, Maricella Garcia, Madison Grumbles, Joshua Hampton, David Hardin, Brian Heifner, Alex Herbig, Emma Hill, Drake Horstman, Katelyn Immel, Kaytlen James and  James Jarreau.

Also, Tyler Klein, Anissa Kneese, Travis Koenig, Kara Kyzar, Ali Laratta, Mattie Lastovica, Luke Littman, Ricardo Martinez, Matthew McManigle, Erin McPherson, Monica Montgomery, Monique Neffendorf, Cameron Netherland, Daniel Nguyen, Cade Ottmers and Ashton Parkey.

And, Chandni Patel, Kenna Ramsey, Carolyn Reavis, Marcus Robles, Austin Rodriguez, Catherine Romanick, Emmy Sauer, William Scudder, Jessica Serrano, Shannon Smith, Kendyl Spies, Aaron Vanderkaay, Rebecca Voorhees, Ryan Weaver, Edward Williams and Kathryn Woodman.

FHS senior class officers

Shelby Bullion is president of the FHS Class of 2014. Joining her are Victoria Henke, vice president; William Scudder, secretary, and Alex Herbig, treasurer.

Teacher sponsors of the class include Christopher Ayala, Howard Ballard, Lisa Ballard, Lisa Bullion and Robert Remschel.

Chosen by the class as its official flower is the sunflower, while the class quote is:

“We may not have it all together, but together we have it all.” — Author Unknown

Rate this article: 
Average: 3 (2 votes)