Marvin Honig

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/etypese1/public_html/fredericksburgstandard/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined index: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/etypese1/public_html/fredericksburgstandard/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/etypese1/public_html/fredericksburgstandard/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).


Marvin Honig, 84, of Harper, died Wednesday, Dec. 25, 2013, at Windcrest Nursing and Rehabilitation Center.

Funeral services were held Saturday, Dec. 28, at 11 a.m. in the chapel of Schaetter Funeral Home with the Rev. Scott Hofmann officiating.

Interment followed at Greenwood Cemetery.

Visitation was held Friday, evening, Dec. 27, and Saturday morning, Dec. 28, at the funeral chapel.

Honig was born April 25, 1929, in Kimble County, the son of Dan W. Honig and Minna Kirchhoff Honig. He married Myrtle Oestreich on Sept. 16, 1950, in Fredericksburg. She preceded him in death.

Honig is survived by three daughters and a son-in-law, including Catherine and Clinton Blumberg Jr., San Antonio; Donna Clifton, Brownwood, and Lynette Baker, Fredericksburg; 10 grandchildren, and 15 great-grandchildren.

He is also survived by a sister, Nola, Mrs. Walter Muller, of Cedar Park; a sister-in-law, Leona, Mrs. William Honig, Hondo, and a brother-in-law, Nolan Oestreich, Dallas.

In addition to his wife and parents, Honig was preceded in death by a son, Daniel Honig; one grandson; two sons-in-law, Doyle Baker and Jimmy Clifton; four brothers, William Honig, Simon Honig, Alfred Honig and Dan Honig Jr., and three sisters: Elsie Honig, Minnie, Mrs. Eddie Staedtler, and Laura Honig.

Memorials may be made to the St. James Lutheran Church Building Fund or to the charity or the charity of choice.

Pallbearers included Clinton Blumberg, Shane Boerner, Keith Hansen, Cory Baker, Kyle Boerner, Austin Boerner, Gary Blumberg and Charles Blumberg.

Honorary pallbearers were Chris Blumberg and Kenny Clifton.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet