Mrs. Victor G. (Nola) Sagebiel


Mrs. Victor G. Sagebiel, 93, nee Eleanora Mina (Nola) Loth of Fredericksburg and formerly of Willow City, died Sunday, Dec. 22, 2013, at Knopp Nursing and Rehabilitation Center.

A funeral mass was celebrated Friday, Dec. 27, at 10 a.m. at St. Mary’s Catholic Church with Msgr. Enda McKenna officiating. Mary Ann Murchison was the pianist, and Tricia Eilers, the vocalist.

Interment followed at St. Mary’s Catholic Cemetery.

Arrangements were under the direction of Schaetter Funeral Home where visitation was held Thursday evening, Dec. 26, and Friday morning, Dec. 27.

Mrs. Sagebiel was born Feb. 5, 1920, in Gillespie County, the daughter of Joseph A. Loth and Laura O. Zenner Loth. She married Victor Gilbert Sagebiel on Jan. 2, 1940, at St. Mary’s Catholic Church. He preceded her in death on May 13, 1974.

A member of St. Mary’s Catholic Church, Mrs. Sagebiel was a charter member of St. Ann’s Society and was a member for over 50 years.

She was also a member of the Willow City Homemakers Club, was named Outstanding Homemaker of the Year in 1956, was active in the Willow City 4-H Club and the Willow City School.

For many years, she worked with the Easter Fires Pageant, volunteered at the St. Vincent de Paul Thrift Store, and worked as a cashier for several local restaurants, retiring at the age of 85 years.

Mrs. Sagebiel is survived by two sons, two daughters and spouses, including Joe A. and Madeline Sagebiel and Mike and Peggy Sagebiel, all of Fredericksburg; Priscilla Gill, Houston, and Kathy and Richard Strickland, Willow City.

Survivors also include six grandchildren, five great-grandchildren, one great-great-grandchild, a brother-in-law, Desmond Sagebiel of Willow City, and a sister-in-law and spouse, Ethel and Willie Willmann of Mason.

In addition to her husband and parents, Mrs. Sagebiel was preceded in death by her step-father, Adolph Ressmann; a son, Randolph (Randy) Sagebiel, and a sister, Helen Clara, Mrs. Alfred (Shorty) Klafka.

Memorials may be made to New Horizons, St. Mary’s Parish Capital Campaign, Willow City Volunteer Fire and Rescue Department or to the charity of choice.

Pallbearers included Dexter Sagebiel, Eric Sagebiel, Robert Sagebiel, Richard Strickland, Butch Welgehausen and Don Wise.

Honorary pallbearers were Sherry Sagebiel, Wendy Gill, Misty Smith, Woody Strickland, Ashley Davis, Ava Sagebiel, Monty Sagebiel, Dannaca Davis, Landri Sagebiel and Reese Sagebiel. 

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)