Kathryn (Kathy) Beyer


Kathryn Johanna (Kathy) Beyer, 67, nee Dearing, of Fredericksburg, died Monday, Oct. 28, 2013, at Austin Heart Hospital in Austin.

Funeral services were held Friday, Nov. 1, at 10 a.m., at Zion Lutheran Church with the Rev. Rick Hartmann officiating. Jui-Chen Haung was the organist, and Pam Hartmann, the vocalist.

Interment followed at Christ Lutheran Cemetery at Cherry Spring.

Arrangements were under the direction of Beckmann Funeral Home where visitation was held Thursday evening, Oct. 31.

Mrs. Beyer was born Jan. 16, 1946, in the Cherry Spring community, the daughter of Edgar Dearing and Paula Crenwelge Dearing. She married Glenn Beyer on May 18, 1964, at Christ Lutheran Church at Cherry Spring, and he survives.

The Beyers made their home in San Antonio where she worked for USAA. They then moved to Kerrville before moving back to Fredericksburg in 1976.

She worked as a bookkeeper for Otto Kolmeier Co. and then for Fredericksburg Lockers.

In 1986, she and her husband became co-owners of Dutchman’s Meat Market which they continued to operate.

Over the years, she was an active member of Zion Lutheran Church in Kerrville, as well as Zion Lutheran Church in Fredericksburg. She served on the councils at both churches, including serving as council president and secretary at the Kerrville church.

She was also active in the Fredericksburg Band Boosters for many years and was on the first Gillespie County Board of Health that established safe food handling practices for the county.

In addition to her husband, Mrs. Beyer is survived by two sons and daughters-in-law, including Barry and Heather Beyer of Fredericksburg and Brett and Kristy Beyer of Horseshoe Bay, and seven grandchildren.

She was preceded in death by her parents as well as a brother, Nelson Edgar Dearing, and a sister, Evangeline Dearing.

Memorials may be made to Zion Lutheran Church, Christ Lutheran Cemetery, or the Adopt-a-Student Program at St. Mary’s School.

Pallbearers included Patrick Beyer, Perry Beyer, Jeff Beyer, Brad Dawson, Bryan Ferguson and Walter Lutz.

Rate this article: 
Average: 3 (1 vote)