FHS graduates number 227

READY TO LEAD the 227 members of the Fredericksburg High School Class of 2013 through commencement exercises on Friday night are Salutatorian Matthew Myers, left, and Valedictorian Seth Studebaker. Set for the FHS Stadium, the ceremony begins at 8 p.m. After graduation, the top two students will both study mechanical engineering — Myers at Texas A&M University and Studebaker at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). — Standard-Radio Post/Yvonne Hartmann

It will be the end of one era and the beginning of another for the 227 members of the Fredericksburg High School Class of 2013 when commencement ceremonies are held on Friday night, June 7.

Set for the Fredericksburg High School Stadium, graduation ceremonies begin at 8 p.m.

Leading the candidates through graduation exercises will be Valedictorian Seth Studebaker and Salutatorian Matthew Myers.

Studebaker, the son of Russell and Lori Studebaker, will attend Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and study mechanical engineering.

Myers, the son of Michael and LeAnn Myers, will attend Texas A&M University and study mechanical engineering.

Friday night’s ceremony will open with the class song followed by the class processional.

The National Anthem will be sung by senior members of the FHS Choir.

The Pledge of Allegiance, Texas Pledge, invocation, welcome and introduction of guests will follow before the valedictory and salutatory addresses.

The Principal’s Challenge will be delivered by Lynn Blackwell.

Dr. Marc Williamson, superintendent of the Fredericksburg Independent School District, will certify the graduates.

Diplomas will be presented by the members of the FISD Board of Trustees.

For more on this story, read this week’s print and online editions of the Fredericksburg Standard-Radio Post. If you are a print subscriber, your full online subscription is free. All you need to do is call 830-997-2155 to get a password. If you are not a subscriber, call 997-2155 and sign up today!

Rate this article: 
Average: 1.5 (4 votes)