Neffendorf, Pearson outpace field in city council race

By Matt Ward

Former Fredericksburg city manager Gary Neffendorf will return to work at City Hall in a new capacity as he and incumbent Graham Pearson were elected to two-year terms on the Fredericksburg City Council in Saturday’s election.

Also on Saturday, voters in Doss chose David Lively and Kenneth Friedrich to serve on the Doss Common Consolidated School District board of trustees.

Just over 350 voters turned out on election day, Saturday, to cast their ballots in a four-way race for two open seats on the Fredericksburg City Council.

In all, 808 residents voted in the election, which saw Neffendorf receive 480 votes, Pearson pick up 393 votes, James (Mac) McAfee receive 322 votes and incumbent Scott Jones pick up 274 votes.

For more on this story, read this week’s print and online editions of the Fredericksburg Standard-Radio Post. If you are a print subscriber, your full online subscription is free. All you need to do is call 830-997-2155 to get a password. If you are not a subscriber, call 997-2155 or click on the ‘Subscribe’ button on the left side of the home page and sign up today!

Rate this article: 
Average: 1.5 (4 votes)